New York, NY — On Sunday, January 21, during its 2024 National Conference, Chamber Music America (CMA) announced the recipients of six new awards, celebrating extraordinary achievements of the small ensemble music community across disciplines. Recipients, nominated by CMA members and then voted on by independent panels from the field, are listed below. Awards categories were not separated by genre, reflecting CMA’s broad constituency and wide-ranging interests in the field

These individuals and ensembles join the previously announced honorees The Balourdet Quartet (Cleveland Quartet Award) Herbie Hancock (Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award) and JACK Quartet (Michael Jaffee Visionary Award). All nine were fêted during the CMA Awards Brunch.

“I am pleased to announce the additions to CMA’s Awards program, which recognizes phenomenal artists and organizations in our field,” says CMA’s Chief Executive Officer Kevin Kwan Loucks. “There are so many individuals and organizations propelling our industry, and CMA has a unique platform to honor and celebrate their successes. As we work to expand our own reach through grant programs and educational initiatives, we are proud to amplify the transformative achievements of our partners.”

Ensemble / Project of the Year

Dalí Quartet

This award celebrates an ensemble or ensemble project that has demonstrated exceptional artistry, musicality, and groundbreaking impact on the chamber music landscape.

Commission / New Work of the Year

Kyle Rivera’s Anaglyph, commissioned by the Cross-Country Chamber Consortium

This award recognizes exceptional compositional talent and serves as a catalyst for the advancement of small-ensemble composition as a vibrant and evolving art form.

Interdisciplinary Collaboration of the Year

Rivers in Our Veins, by Allison Miller

This award recognizes extraordinary endeavors that bridge the gap between music and other art forms, including dance, theater, visual arts, film, literature, and more.

Album of the Year

Uncovered, Vol. 3: Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson, William Grant Still & George Walker – by Catalyst Quartet

This award recognizes the top chamber music recording, album released between November 2022 and November 2023.

Community Impact / Presenter of the Year

National Sawdust

Previously called the CMAcclaim Award, this award recognizes an individual or organization that has made a profound and lasting contribution to their community through the presentation of chamber music performances, educational outreach initiatives, collaborations with local musicians and organizations, or audience development programs.

Arts Advocate of the Year

Afa Dworkin

This award highlights exemplary leadership and a commitment to advancing the arts at the local, state, or national levels.